Spring is out there—-I can feel it!

It seems so far away when you look out the window and all you see is snow. I know it is coming…I can feel it. My fingers are itching to loosening up the soil, my eyes are just waiting for the bulbs to start pushing up through the snow, my nose is just waiting to smell that ‘fresh’ smell of cool, clean air with just a hint of earthiness.It is time….my mind is already dreaming up a new plan for my flower beds– they are in need of dividing this year and I want to move several of the beds–especially the one that is on the side of the house–we hope to put a garage there next year. Unfortunately we are ‘blessed’ with clay in our area. Heavy, dense soil that is not great for planting. In the past I always just amended the soil by working in bags of peat, manure and compost….this year I hope to change that by installing raised beds. 

I found a couple of great sites regarding raised beds, from building your own to kits ready to go. They sound so intriguing–compact area means you get a better yield since you can plant more densely. The raised bed allows the soil to warm up faster and longer (since you can also turn it into a mini greenhouse in the cooler months).

http://eartheasy.com/grow_raised_beds.htm

This site offers a DIY approach as well as several options from kits to parts.

http://www.popularmechanics.com/home/how-to-plans/lawn-garden/4308264

Strictly a ‘by the book’ approach to building the beds.

So what do you think? Can you see a raised bed in your future? Think of the garden fresh organic vegetables you will be able to have at your fingertips.

Let me know what you think–pros and cons of home gardening–flower or vegetable…..

About janicedoty

What could you possibly want to know....I am a 40something "Small Town Girl" just trying to figure out how life works. I have been married for over 20 years and have two teenage daughters....I am still trying to figure out how that happened! (I can't be that old already!) So what you'll get here is my interpretation on life, family, work and anything in between...snapshots of my life in a sense. Are they always correct? Maybe not but they are mine.
This entry was posted in Family, Gardening, Life choices, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring is out there—-I can feel it!

  1. Gwen says:

    I am looking forward to spring. My garden is already sprouting.

  2. Pingback: House Plans - Home 19285 plan

Leave a Reply

